November progress report

cruisylogo2.02Well, I finished my exam a couple of weeks ago and have begun the development of the Cruisy website. I had actually already done a bit when I had time throughout the semester, but now I’m able to spend more time on it. Since my exam, my time has mostly been taken up with:

  • Designing the home page – just a rough layout so that the content looks OK when it’s spat out into the view.
  • Searching for sources of information.
  • Working out which technologies I’ll need. This took some time because there are many ways to skin a cat.
  • Finishing off a javascript newsreader.
  • Sorting out a caching mechanism.

Here is a screenshot of the javascript newsreader I built:

Newsreader

Newsreader

 

notedlogoAs I’ve switched from PHP to Java, and I’ll be using another instance of MySQL (as apposed to the one built into XAMP), I’ve removed XAMP from my computer. So, for the meantime, I won’t be able to do any more develoment on the Noted website. I know it can be improved, especially with the sharing functionality (the navigation through subjects is not very intuitive), and there may be a bug here and there – if something serious comes up, I can always put XAMPP back on and fix it up. Let me know if you find any bugs!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cruisy

Leave a Reply

